2022 Home Run Derby: Past Champions, Notable Records – NBC Chicago | Hot Mobile Press

2022 Home Run Derby: Past Champions, Notable Records originally appeared on NBC Sports Chicago

Calling all baseball lovers! It’s officially time for the best two days of summer – the MLB Home Run Derby and the All-Star Game.

The MLB Home Run Derby, held the day before the Midsummer Classic, is an annual competition featuring baseball’s top power hitters.

The annual Summer Slugfest was inspired by a 1960s TV show called Home Run Derby, which starred baseball legends Mickey Mantle and Willie Mays. Fast forward six decades and today the event features eight of the league’s top hitters in a single-elimination bracket.

Who will we see take home the title this year? New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonso having a three-pointer?

Before the derby begins, let’s take a look at past champions and notable records.

When was the first MLB Home Run Derby?

The first MLB Home Run Derby was held in 1985, meaning this year’s competition will be the 37th of its kind.

The 1985 event was held at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where seven-time All-Star Dave Parker of the Cincinnati Reds took home the crown. Parker won the inaugural six home run home run derby against four future Hall of Famers including Jim Rice, Eddie Murray, Carlton Fisk and Ryne Sandberg.

Where have previous MLB home run derbies been held?

Here are past venues for the annual slugfest:

1985: H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minn.

1986: Astrodome in Houston, Texas

1987: Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum in Oakland, California.

1988: Canceled due to rain

1989: Anaheim Stadium in Anaheim, California.

1990: Wrigley Field in Chicago, Illinois.

1991: SkyDome in Toronto, Ontario

1992: Jack Murphy Stadium in San Diego, California.

1993: Oriole Park at Camden Yards in Baltimore, Md.

1994: Three Rivers Stadium in Pittsburgh, Penn.

1995: The Ballpark at Arlington in Arlington, Texas

1996: Veterans Stadium in Philadelphia, Penn.

1997: Jacobs Field in Cleveland, Ohio

1998: Coors Field in Denver, Colorado.

1999: Fenway Park in Boston, Mass.

2000: Turner Field in Atlanta, Georgia.

2001: Safeco field in Seattle, Washington.

2002: Miller Park in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

2003: US Cellular Field in Chicago, Illinois.

2004: Minute Maid Park in Houston, Texas

2005: Comerica Park in Detroit, Mich.

2006: PNC Park in Pittsburgh, Penn.

2007: AT&T Park in San Francisco, California.

2008: Yankee Stadium in New York, NY

2009: Busch Stadium in St. Louis, Mo.

2010: Angel Stadium of Anaheim in Anaheim, California.

2011: Chase in Phoenix, Arizona.

2012: Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City, Mo.

2013: Citi Field in New York, NY

2014: Target field in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

2015: Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati, Ohio

2016: Petco Park in San Diego, California.

2017: Marlin’s Park in Miami, Florida.

2018: National Park in Washington, DC

2019: Progressive Field in Cleveland, Ohio

2020: Canceled due to COVID-19 (scheduled to be held at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, California)

2021: Coors Field in Denver, Colorado.

2022: Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, California.

Who Are Some Former Home Run Derby Champions?

Here’s a look at the last five Home Run Derby winners:

2021 – Pete Alonso, New York Mets

This Home Run Derby was a long time coming considering the 2020 event was canceled due to the global pandemic. Alonso won the 2021 event for the second straight year, scoring in the final by 23:22. After the derby, Alonso declared himself the “best batsman in the world”.

2019 – Pete Alonso, New York Mets

During the 2019 Home Run Derby, Alonso won the event in the finals by 23:22, becoming the second rookie to win the contest. He was also the first Met to win straight after Darryl Strawberry tied in 1986.

During the 2018 slugfest, Bryce Harper of the Nationals won 19-18. He was the previous runner-up during the 2013 competition.

2017 – Aaron Richter, New York Yankees

The 2017 Home Run Derby featured Aaron Judge, who won 11-10 to become the first rookie to win the event outright.

2016 – Giancarlo Stanton, Miami Marlins

Giancarlo Stanton of Miami won the 2016 slugfest 20-13 and set a record for most home runs in a derby contest at 61.

How can I watch this year’s Home Run Derby?

You can watch this year’s Home Run Derby on the MLB Network or ESPN. The event begins at 8 p.m. ET. on Monday 18 July.

Leave a Comment