How many Minecraft blocks are needed for a full beacon? – | Hot Mobile Press

Towards the end of the game, Minecraft players can set up beacons in their overworld for navigation and status effects. The block can be extremely helpful when used correctly, and here’s everything you need to know about beacons in Minecraft.

Minecraft offers a wide variety of items and blocks for players to experiment with. While some blocks like Cobblestone are as simple as can be, others like Beacon have complex uses. Accordingly, crafting a beacon requires you to defeat bosses and extensively explore the overworld.

From its crafting recipe to the blocks required for a full beacon, this guide covers everything about beacons in Minecraft.

What do beacons do in Minecraft?

Beacons send a beam into the sky, providing buffs and status effects to nearby players. Some players use beacons to improve their speed and jumping ability, while others simply use them for navigation as their beam is visible from 1342 blocks away in Java edition and 64 blocks away in Bedrock.

You can change the color of the bonfire’s beam by placing stained glass (obtained by placing eight blocks of glass and one color in the center of the crafting table) over it. This is helpful when you’re ready to set up multiple beacons in your overworld, and each beacon can help identify landmarks.

A beacon has primary and secondary powers:

Primary Powers

  • Speed ​​I- Increases movement speed.
  • Haste I – Increases mining and attack speed.
  • Resistance I – Decreases all incoming damage.
  • Jump Boost I – Increases jump distance and height.
  • Strength I – Increases melee damage.

Secondary Powers

Secondaries are only available with a Tier 4 Pyramid:

  • regeneration – provides healing.
  • Increases primary power to level 2

When activated, a beacon’s powers are applied to all players within range for a duration of 9 seconds plus 2 seconds per pyramid level. This means that a full pyramid can apply the status effects for 17 seconds. This process takes place every four seconds.

Primary and secondary powers of a Minecraft beacon

How to choose the primary and secondary powers of a Minecraft beacon

While there are many options, a Minecraft beacon can only provide players with a primary effect and a secondary effect. To activate them, you need to feed the bonfire with an Iron, Gold, Diamond, Netherite, or Emerald ingot.

Once activated, you can choose the primary and secondary effects based on the pyramid level. To use two primary powers, you can choose the secondary power, which increases the primary power to level 2.

You can change the primary and secondary power of your beacon, but to do this you must always feed the device a different bar.

How to make a beacon in Minecraft

You will need the following items to craft a beacon in Minecraft:

  • Five glass blocks
  • Three obsidian blocks
  • A substar

The crafting pattern for a Minecraft beacon is:

Crafting recipe for making beacons in Minecraft

Here’s how you can get these items:


You can easily get glass in Minecraft by melting sand. If you want to break it down naturally, make sure you use tools with Silk Touch enabled. It is created in the secret rooms in forest mansions and in ancient cities.


Obsidian blocks in Minecraft are formed when water flows over a lava spring. You can of course also find them in all three worlds:

  • Overworld – Forest mansions, ocean ruins buildings, canyons, caves, ruined portals.
  • The Nether – destroyed portals.
  • The End – on the main island at Y=0, End Ship and End Cities.


You can get a Nether Star in Minecraft by defeating the Wither. This is the only source for obtaining this item, and interestingly, a Nether Star’s sole purpose is to be an ingredient in the crafting of flares.

You can summon a wither by placing four blocks of soul sand/soil in a T-shape and three wither skeletal skulls on it. The difficulty of your world must not be peaceful if you want to spawn the boss.

Soul sand structure for spawning the Wither boss in Minecraft

How to create pyramids for a single beacon in Minecraft

Beacons in Minecraft only work when placed over an Iron, Gold, Emerald, Diamond, or Netherite Pyramid. A pyramid can consist of different types of blocks. There are four types of pyramids you can craft, and their height affects the bonfire’s abilities.

The procedure for creating a beacon pyramid also depends on the number of beacons you want to use.

This table illustrates the number of blocks you need to create a fully functional pyramid with a single beacon:

pyramid level blocks layers Powers and buffs available area
1 20 4×5 beacons hurry and jump 20
2 62 6×7, 4×5, beacons Haste, speed, bounce and resistance 30
3 134 8×9, 6×7, 4×5, beacons Strength, Haste, Speed, Bounce, and Resistance 40
4 244 10×11, 8×9, 6×7, 4×5, beacons Strength, Haste, Speed, Bounce, and Resistance with secondary powers (passive regeneration or upgrade all primary powers to level 2) 50

It is obvious that making a level 4 Beacon Pyramid is difficult, but you can choose from all primary and secondary powers.

How to create pyramids for multiple beacons in Minecraft

You can place multiple beacons on top of a Minecraft pyramid to share all available buffs. By placing six bonfires on top and assigning different primary and secondary powers to each, you can get Tier II strength, haste, speed, bounce and resistance, as well as passive regeneration from a single pyramid.

This table shows the number of blocks required to create a pyramid with multiple beacons at the top:

pyramid level blocks layers Powers and buffs available area
1 9 3 x 3, beacon hurry and jump 20
2 34 5×5, 3×3, beacon Haste, speed, bounce and resistance 30
3 83 7×7, 5×5, 3×3, flare Strength, Haste, Speed, Bounce, and Resistance 40
4 164 9×9, 7×7, 5×5, 3×3, beacon Strength, Haste, Speed, Bounce, and Resistance with secondary powers (passive regeneration or upgrade all primary powers to level 2) 50

Finally, remember that a beacon can only be activated when it has a clear view of the sky. However, you can place transparent blocks such as water or glass over a beacon without affecting the device’s functionality.

Minecraft pyramid with six beacons

This is all you will ever need to know about beacons, beacon pyramids and blocks required to create a full beacon in Minecraft.

While this guide may be useful for players who have reached the endgame, we also have plenty of guides for beginners. Be sure to check out how to breed horses in minecraft, how to make stone bricks in minecraft and how to get a saddle in minecraft

Photo credit: Mojang

Leave a Comment